Skip to main content

Congratulations Ariana

Furious Flower Poetry 2022 Winner

About The Prize

The Furious Flower Poetry Prize for emerging writers is an annual competition running from December 15 through February 15 open to poets with no more than one published book. Each year, the winner and honorable mention are invited to read as a part of the Furious Flower Reading Series and published along with select finalists in Obsidian Journal

Exceptional Quality

An in-person & virtually reading took place on April 20, 2022 featuring our 2022 Poetry Prize winners, Ariana Benson and Benin Lemus joined by the judge for 2022, Tim Seibles.

Watch the Reading

Being a part of Furious Flower in this way is deeply meaningful to me as a poet, and a person, whose life and work are deeply rooted in Southern Black tradition. It is an honor to be recognized by an institution that paved the way for the poets who paved mine

Ariana Benson 2022 Furious Flower Poetry Prize Winner

About Ariana

Ariana Benson was born in Norfolk, Virginia. She received the 2020 Graybeal-Gowen Poetry Prize and the 2021 Porter House Review Poetry Prize. Her poems appear or are forthcoming in Copper Nickel, Colorado Review, Indiana Review, Black Warrior Review, World Literature Today, Tinderbox, Auburn Avenue, where she serves as Nonfiction Editor, and elsewhere. She is the 2022 Eliza Moore Fellow for Artistic Excellence at the Oak Spring Garden Foundation. Through her writing, she strives to fashion vignettes of Blackness that speak to its infinite depth and richness.


Author 4dmin

Founded in 2020, Obsidain is an international organization committed to cultivating the artistic and professional growth of Black poets.

More posts by 4dmin