Skip to main content
The new Evaristo African Poetry Prize


I want to put presence into absence

Bernardine Evaristo

The Brunel International African Poetry Prize, formerly supported by Brunel University London, will be renamed the Evaristo African Poetry Prize. The list of Brunel Prize winners and finalists is a veritable who’s who of movers and shakers in the global African poetry community.  The Prize, which began in 2012, has played a crucial role in empowering an entire generation of young, African poets. The contest creates a unique opportunity for poets who have discovered their voice and are creating compelling work but haven’t yet marshalled enough poems for a full-length collection or a chapbook.

Evaristo initiated this endeavour and knew the role such a prize could play in revitalizing African poetry. The African Poetry Book Fund will begin handling all operations related to the prize, ensuring that future generations of African poets will have the chance to share their best ten poems with the world and, in the process, join a globe-spanning and vibrant creative community. In October 2022, submissions for the Evaristo African Poetry Prize will open


Bernardine Evaristo


Evaristo African Poetry Prize

Current Body of work

I: Manifesto: A radically honest and inspirational memoir 2020


Author 4dmin

Founded in 2020, Obsidain is an international organization committed to cultivating the artistic and professional growth of Black poets.

More posts by 4dmin